Meditations of Polyhymnia

from by Michael Levy



Polyhymnia ( Πολυύμνια; "the one of many hymns"), was in Greek mythology the Muse of sacred poetry, sacred hymn, dance, and eloquence as well as agriculture and pantomime. Her name comes from the Greek words "poly" meaning "many" and "hymnos", which means "praise".

She is depicted as very serious, pensive and meditative, and often holding a finger to her mouth, dressed in a long cloak and veil and resting her elbow on a pillar. Polyhymnia is also sometimes credited as being the Muse of geometry and meditation.

This piece, therefore is fittingly composed in the intensively introspective ancient Greek Dorian Mode (the equivalent intervals as E-E on the white notes of the piano and misnamed the 'Phrygian' mode in the Middle Ages). This uniquely introspective characteristic of the ancient Greek Dorian Mode is further enhanced by the use the pure, focussed musical intervals tuned in authentic just intonation...


from Kithara of the Golden Age, released September 13, 2016


all rights reserved



Michael Levy UK

Michael Levy is a prolific composer for the recreated lyres of antiquity, whose musical mission is to create an entirely new musical genre, which could best be described as a 'New Ancestral Music' - dedicated to reintroducing the recreated lyres, ancient musical modes and intonations, back into the modern musical world.. ... more

contact / help

Contact Michael Levy

Streaming and
Download help

If you like Michael Levy, you may also like: